- The Number: 70% on a 100-Question Exam
- What 70% Means in Practice
- What AHLEI Does Not Publish
- Format, Proctoring, and Delivery
- Fees, Retakes, and the Cost of Missing 70%
- Building a 70% Across Six Knowledge Areas
- Setting Practice Score Targets
- Eligibility Comes Before the Score
- After You Pass: Renewal and Value
- Frequently Asked Questions
- The Certified Lodging Owner exam has 100 questions, two hours, and a 70% passing score.
- The current U.S. package costs $561; a retake costs $51, so missing 70% is cheap to fix.
- Pass rates and the scored/unscored question split are not publicly disclosed, so avoid relying on rumored cut scores.
- You must own at least one lodging property and document ownership before you can test.
The Number: 70% on a 100-Question Exam
The passing standard for the Certified Lodging Owner (CLO) credential, offered through the American Hotel & Lodging Educational Institute (AHLEI), is straightforward. According to the official product details, the exam consists of 100 questions, you have two hours to complete it, and the passing score is 70%.
That is the whole published standard. There is no tiered scoring, no published scaled-score range, and no separate threshold for individual content areas in the sources reviewed. If you are searching for a mysterious cut score, a curve, or a hidden domain minimum, the honest answer is that none has been publicly documented. This guide separates what is confirmed from what is not, so you can plan around facts rather than forum folklore.
If you want the broader picture of how this credential works end to end, start with What Is CLO Certification? and then return here for the scoring details.
What 70% Means in Practice
On a 100-question exam, 70% sounds like it should mean 70 correct answers. That is a reasonable working assumption, and it is the safest way to plan, but there is a caveat worth understanding.
The scored versus unscored question issue
Many professional exams include a handful of unscored pretest items mixed in with the live questions. For the CLO, the scored/unscored split is unverified. AHLEI's published materials reviewed for this article do not say whether all 100 questions count toward your result. Two practical consequences follow:
- Plan for 70 correct out of 100. If every item is scored, that is exactly what you need. If some are unscored, your margin is simply unknown, so you should not budget for a cushion.
- Do not skip questions you find "experimental." You cannot tell which items, if any, are unscored, so treat every question as live.
| Scoring Detail | Status |
|---|---|
| Number of questions | 100 (published) |
| Time limit | 2 hours (published) |
| Passing score | 70% (published) |
| Scored vs. unscored split | Unverified |
| Exact real-exam item type | Unverified |
| Public pass rate | Not publicly disclosed |
| Adaptive testing | Unverified |
Pacing at a 70% target
Two hours across 100 questions works out to roughly 72 seconds per question if you used every minute evenly. In practice, lodging-operations questions vary: a straightforward definition may take 20 seconds, while a scenario involving rates, occupancy, or staffing may take longer. Because you only need 70%, you can afford to make a quick best-answer choice on the hardest items and keep your time for questions you can actually win.
What AHLEI Does Not Publish
A trustworthy passing-score guide has to be explicit about the gaps. Based on the official product pages reviewed on September 29, 2026, the following are not publicly confirmed:
- The pass rate. AHLEI does not publicly disclose it. Any specific percentage you see quoted online should be treated as unsupported. For a fuller discussion of why, see CLO Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows.
- Official domain weights. The exact official names, count, and weights of content areas are unavailable, so no one can honestly say which topic is "largest" on the exam.
- Open-book status, calculator rules, and break policies. These are unverified. Confirm them with your proctor and your candidate instructions before test day.
- Whether the exam is adaptive. Unverified.
Because weights are unknown, the six study areas used throughout this site are broad preparation headings rather than an official blueprint. They follow the broad knowledge areas named in the current AHLEI product overview, and any practice-question allocation you see on this site is editorial, not a reflection of official exam proportions.
Format, Proctoring, and Delivery
The CLO is delivered through AHLEI's ExamFlex model, which uses an authorized proctor. The exam can be administered in print or online format. No external appointment provider and no at-home delivery option were verified in the sources reviewed, so you should not assume you can sit the exam in your living room on a schedule of your choosing.
That has a scoring-related implication: your testing conditions are arranged through a proctor relationship rather than a walk-in testing center network. Before you purchase, it is worth reading how scheduling works in CLO Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling so that your two-hour sitting is set up when you are at your sharpest.
Questions to ask your proctor
- Is the exam administered in print or online for my session?
- Are calculators permitted, and what type?
- Are reference materials allowed, or is the exam closed-book?
- What is the break policy during the two-hour window?
- How and when will I receive my result?
Because the open-book, calculator, and break rules are unverified publicly, getting written answers here removes avoidable stress from a test where every point toward 70% counts.
Fees, Retakes, and the Cost of Missing 70%
The financial structure of the CLO softens the consequences of falling short. The current U.S. package is $561 and includes the application, the online study guide, and the exam. No member versus nonmember price split was verified.
If you do not reach 70%, the retake product is priced at $51. The retake is sold as a Second Edition product (the edition year is unverified), and the rules allow two retake purchases within one year of application approval. That means, in total, you have a defined window in which to attempt the exam again without repaying the full package.
| Item | Published Detail |
|---|---|
| Full U.S. package (application, online guide, exam) | $561 |
| Retake | $51 |
| Retake purchases allowed | Two, within one year of application approval |
| Member/nonmember pricing | No split verified |
Key Takeaway
Treat your first sitting as a serious attempt, not a trial run. But know the downside is limited: a $51 retake and two permitted purchases within the year make a near-miss recoverable. For a complete money breakdown, see CLO Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown.
Building a 70% Across Six Knowledge Areas
Since the passing score is a single overall threshold and weights are not published, your goal is to be competent everywhere rather than excellent in one place. The six broad preparation areas below follow the knowledge areas named in the current AHLEI product overview. They are study headings, not an official weighted blueprint. For deeper treatment of each, see CLO Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 6 Content Areas.
Human Resources
As an owner, you are responsible for the people who deliver your guest experience.
- Hiring, onboarding, and training practices for lodging staff
- Scheduling, labor cost awareness, and retention
- Employment-related responsibilities of a property owner
Revenue
Revenue questions reward candidates who think like an owner reading a P&L.
- Pricing, rate strategy, and occupancy concepts
- Revenue and expense relationships in a lodging business
- Interpreting basic performance measures
Facilities
The physical asset is your largest investment, so upkeep and planning matter.
- Maintenance and preventive upkeep of the property
- Safety, building systems, and capital planning concepts
- Protecting the asset's condition and guest comfort
Technology
Modern properties run on software and connected systems.
- Property management and reservation systems
- Distribution channels and online presence
- Technology decisions as an owner
Sales
Filling rooms is not only about walk-ins.
- Marketing and selling the property to target segments
- Group, corporate, and leisure business concepts
- Building repeat guest relationships
Rooms
Rooms operations are the core product you sell each night.
- Front desk and housekeeping operations
- Guest service standards and room readiness
- Coordinating departments to deliver a consistent stay
These topics will feel familiar if you already run a property. The risk for working owners is the opposite of what newcomers face: you may be strong in the areas you handle daily and weak in the ones you delegate. If you outsource technology decisions or leave sales to a manager, those are exactly the areas where a few missed questions can pull you below 70%.
Setting Practice Score Targets
Because the real standard is 70%, your practice benchmark should sit comfortably above it. The official exam's item style is not fully verified, so practice scores are an estimate rather than a prediction. A sensible approach:
- Take a baseline across all six areas first. Note which areas fall below 70% in your results.
- Aim for consistent scores in the mid-70s or higher on full-length practice sets before you sit the real exam, to leave a buffer for unfamiliar wording.
- Track by area, not just overall. A strong total can hide a weak area that will cost you when real questions skew toward it.
You can run timed sets of exactly this kind on the CLO practice test and compare each area against your target.
One scheduling idea tied to CLO content
Instead of generic weekly templates, sequence by how far each area sits from your daily work.
Delegated areas first
- Study technology and sales, the areas owners most often hand off
- Take a short quiz on each to find gaps
Numbers and people
- Work through revenue concepts and human resources responsibilities
- Practice reading performance figures quickly
Operations and full-length timing
- Review facilities and rooms
- Complete full 100-question sets inside a strict two-hour window
For a fuller plan, see CLO Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt. If you want to gauge overall difficulty before committing to a timeline, read How Hard Is the CLO Exam? Complete Difficulty Guide 2026.
Eligibility Comes Before the Score
You cannot reach the passing score if you cannot sit the exam, and the CLO has a gate most credentials do not. The applicant must own at least one lodging property and document that ownership. Time in position is not applicable, so there is no minimum years-of-experience requirement to satisfy.
The study guide is roughly 40 hours of material, but that figure describes the guide, not a mandatory experience or training requirement. It is a useful planning number, not a rule you must prove.
Your application is reviewed and approved before the exam product is usable, and the one-year retake window runs from application approval, so the timing of your approval affects how long you have for retakes. Full details are in CLO Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify.
After You Pass: Renewal and Value
Passing at 70% earns the designation, but credentials carry ongoing obligations. A directory reports a five-year renewal cycle, by re-examination or continuing professional development, but the current AHLEI renewal hours, points, and fee were not verified. Confirm the present requirements directly with AHLEI before you plan your renewal calendar.
Whether the effort pays off depends on your property and goals. For a structured way to think about that decision, read Is the CLO Certification Worth It? Complete ROI Analysis 2026. And because the CLO is an owner credential rather than an employee job title, the career picture differs from managerial certifications, so temper expectations if you are looking at CLO salary data as a motivator.
Frequently Asked Questions
The published passing score is 70%. The exam has 100 questions and a two-hour time limit. Whether all 100 questions are scored is unverified, so plan on needing 70 correct answers.
No. AHLEI does not publicly disclose the pass rate for this exam. Be cautious of any specific percentage quoted elsewhere, since it cannot be tied to an official source.
The retake is priced at $51. Two retake purchases are allowed within one year of application approval. The full U.S. package, including the application, online guide, and exam, is $561.
No per-area minimum was found in the published sources. The 70% appears to be an overall threshold. Because domain weights are not published, though, you should still prepare across all six areas rather than gambling on a favorite.
At-home delivery was not verified. The exam is offered through AHLEI ExamFlex with an authorized proctor, in print or online. Confirm the format and conditions with your proctor before test day.
Your passing score is simple to state and demanding to earn: 70% on 100 questions in two hours, across six broad areas of lodging ownership. Prepare evenly, confirm the unverified rules with your proctor, and use realistic timed practice on the CLO practice exam site to make sure your scores sit comfortably above the line before you sit the real thing.