- CLO here means Certified Lodging Owner, an AHLEI credential built for people who own lodging property.
- You must own at least one lodging property and document that ownership to apply.
- The listed U.S. package costs $561 and covers the application, online study guide and exam.
- The exam is 100 questions in 2 hours, with a 70% passing score.
What CLO Means in This Article
The letters "CLO" appear on several unrelated professional credentials, which is a frequent source of confusion for anyone searching the term. On this site, CLO means one thing: Certified Lodging Owner. It is a certification aimed at people who own hotels, motels, inns and other lodging properties, and it is delivered through the hospitality industry's education arm rather than through a general business body.
If you landed here looking for a corporate learning executive title or a different credential that shares the abbreviation, this is not that. Everything below concerns the lodging-ownership certification and its exam. For a few differently phrased explainers on the same term, you can also read What Does CLO Stand For? and What Is CLO Certification?.
Who Offers the Credential
The Certified Lodging Owner program comes from AHLEI, the American Hotel & Lodging Educational Institute. AHLA trademarks are used under license by NRAS in connection with the program. AHLEI is the education and certification arm associated with the American Hotel & Lodging Association, which is why the credential carries recognition inside the lodging sector specifically.
Delivery runs through AHLEI's ExamFlex model with an authorized proctor. The exam can be taken in print or online format under that proctored arrangement. We have not verified an external appointment-scheduling provider, and we have not verified at-home remote delivery, so plan on a proctored setting rather than assuming you can sit the exam from your living room. Because proctoring arrangements can change, check the current AHLEI product page before you commit to a date. Our CLO Exam Dates guide covers scheduling considerations in more depth.
Who Actually Qualifies
Most professional certifications ask for years of experience in a role. The Certified Lodging Owner credential works differently. The core eligibility requirement is ownership: you must own at least one lodging property and be able to document that ownership as part of your application. Time in position is not applicable, so there is no minimum number of years you must have held an owner or manager title.
That makes the credential a fit for several kinds of people:
- Independent owners of a single motel, inn or small hotel who want a structured grounding in how the whole operation fits together.
- Newer owners who bought a property recently and want a framework for departments they have never personally run.
- Owners of multiple properties who want a consistent vocabulary and baseline across their portfolio.
The study guide is described at roughly 40 hours of material, but that figure describes the reading and learning load, not a mandatory experience requirement. You are not required to log 40 hours of anything to qualify. For a fuller walkthrough of eligibility, see CLO Requirements: Eligibility, Prerequisites and How to Qualify.
What the Exam Looks Like
The official product details describe an exam of 100 questions with a 2-hour time limit and a 70% passing score. That works out to roughly 72 seconds per question on average, which is comfortable for recall-style items but can feel tighter if you are working through scenario-based questions that require you to weigh several operational factors at once.
| Exam Element | What Is Confirmed |
|---|---|
| Number of questions | 100 |
| Time allowed | 2 hours |
| Passing score | 70% |
| Delivery | AHLEI ExamFlex with an authorized proctor, print or online |
| Pass rate | Not publicly disclosed |
| Scored vs. unscored split | Not verified |
Several details are simply not confirmed in public sources, and it would be irresponsible to guess. We have not verified whether the exam is open-book, whether calculators are permitted, whether the test is adaptive, or what the current break rules are. The exact item type on the real exam is also unverified. Treat those as questions to put to AHLEI or your proctor directly before test day, and do not build your strategy around an assumption either way.
Because no pass rate is published, any number you see quoted should be treated skeptically. Our CLO Pass Rate article explains what can and cannot be said responsibly, and CLO Passing Score digs into what a 70% threshold means in practice.
Fees, Retakes and Registration
The current U.S. package is listed at $561, and it bundles the application, the online study guide and the exam together. That bundling is worth noticing: you are not paying separately for a course and then again for an exam sitting. We have not verified a published split between member and nonmember pricing, so do not assume a discount applies to you without checking.
| Item | Detail |
|---|---|
| Full U.S. package | $561 (application, online guide and exam) |
| Retake | $51 |
| Retake purchases allowed | Two, within one year of application approval |
| Member/nonmember pricing | No published split verified |
The retake structure is unusually forgiving. A retake costs $51, far below the cost of the full package, and the retake product allows two purchases within one year of application approval. The retake product is labeled Second Edition, though the year of that edition is not verified. In practical terms, a single unsuccessful attempt is a modest setback rather than a financial reset, but the one-year window means you should not let months drift by between attempts. For a wider look at what you will spend, including study materials beyond the package, see the CLO Certification Cost breakdown.
Key Takeaway
Treat the application approval date as your clock. Your two retake purchases expire one year after approval, so plan your first attempt early enough that a retake still falls comfortably inside the window.
The Six Knowledge Areas
AHLEI's current product overview names six broad knowledge areas that the program covers. We organize preparation around them, but with an important caveat: these are broad study headings, not an official weighted or exhaustive blueprint. The exact official names, the count of domains and their weights are not available to us, so we cannot tell you which area carries the most exam weight, and you should be wary of anyone who claims to. Treat all six as fair game and avoid skipping any based on a rumored emphasis. A longer treatment lives in the CLO Exam Domains guide.
Domain 1: Human Resources
Owners are employers first and hoteliers second, and this area reflects that reality. Expect material on staffing a lodging operation and managing the people who run it day to day.
- Hiring, training and retaining front-line and back-of-house staff
- Scheduling and labor planning against fluctuating occupancy
- Employer responsibilities and workplace practices an owner must understand
Domain 2: Revenue
Revenue is where ownership decisions turn into numbers. Study how a lodging property earns, measures and protects income.
- Pricing logic and how rates respond to demand
- Core lodging performance measures an owner should read fluently
- The relationship between occupancy, rate and total revenue
Domain 3: Facilities
The building is the product. This area covers keeping a property safe, functional and presentable.
- Maintenance planning and the cost of deferred upkeep
- Safety, security and guest-environment responsibilities
- How facility condition connects to guest satisfaction and long-term asset value
Domain 4: Technology
Modern lodging runs on connected systems. Candidates should understand what technology does for an operation and what it demands of the owner.
- Property management and reservation systems at a conceptual level
- How distribution channels and online presence reach guests
- Weighing technology costs against operational benefit
Domain 5: Sales
Filling rooms does not happen by accident. This area addresses how a property finds and wins business.
- Identifying market segments and the guests a property best serves
- Promotion, relationships and repeat business
- Coordinating sales effort with revenue goals
Domain 6: Rooms
Rooms are the core of a lodging business, and this area covers how the rooms division actually operates.
- Front desk, reservations and guest-service workflow
- Housekeeping standards and room readiness
- How the rooms division coordinates with the rest of the property
Notice how the six areas depend on one another. A pricing choice in revenue affects staffing in human resources; a facilities decision changes what you can charge and what guests expect from the rooms division. Questions that blend areas are plausible, so study the connections rather than treating each domain as a sealed compartment.
Sequencing Your Preparation
Because the guide is described at about 40 hours of material, a steady schedule across several weeks suits busy owners better than cramming. The order below is built around how the six areas depend on each other rather than around generic study technique. Adjust the pace to your own calendar; the weekly framing is an editorial suggestion, not an official requirement.
Rooms and Facilities
- Start with the physical product you already know best
- Build vocabulary for the operational terms the rest of the material leans on
Revenue and Sales
- Learn how rate, occupancy and demand interact before you study how business is won
- Practice reading and applying the performance measures an owner relies on
Human Resources and Technology
- Cover staffing and systems once the operational and revenue context is in place
- Connect labor decisions and technology spending back to revenue
Mixed Review and Timed Practice
- Work mixed questions across all six areas under a 2-hour limit
- Revisit any area where your practice scores trail the 70% target
The logic is simple: rooms and facilities are the foundation, revenue and sales explain how that foundation earns money, and people and technology are the levers that make it all run. Finish with mixed timed practice so the 100-question, 2-hour pace feels familiar. For a fuller plan, read the CLO Study Guide, and keep the CLO Cheat Sheet handy for last-minute review.
When you want realistic repetition, the CLO practice test site lets you drill questions across the six areas. Keep in mind that practice-question allocations across domains are editorial choices on our part, not a reflection of official exam weighting, so use them to build breadth rather than to predict your score.
Staying Current After You Pass
Industry directories report a five-year renewal cycle for the credential, with renewal available by retaking the exam or by completing continuing professional development. That is the reported structure only. The current AHLEI renewal requirements, including any required hours or points and any renewal fee, are not verified, so confirm the details with AHLEI rather than relying on a directory summary. Mark the five-year point on your calendar when you earn the credential so the deadline does not catch you off guard.
Where the Credential Fits in Your Career
Unlike most certifications, this one is not primarily a job-hunting tool. Its eligibility rule requires you to already own lodging property, so the audience is owners rather than employees angling for a promotion. That shapes how to think about return on investment. The payoff is less about a salary bump and more about a structured command of every department you are ultimately responsible for, plus a recognized industry credential that signals seriousness to lenders, partners, franchisors and staff.
If you are weighing whether the investment makes sense, our Is the CLO Certification Worth It? analysis walks through the trade-offs, and How Hard Is the CLO Exam? helps you gauge the effort involved. Because the credential is tied to ownership, general salary figures are a poor lens here; we avoid quoting earnings numbers we cannot verify.
Frequently Asked Questions
It stands for Certified Lodging Owner, a credential offered through AHLEI, the American Hotel & Lodging Educational Institute, for people who own lodging property. The abbreviation is shared with unrelated credentials, so confirm you are reading about the lodging certification.
Yes. Applicants must own at least one lodging property and document that ownership. There is no separate years-in-position requirement, since time in position is not applicable to this credential.
The official product details list 100 questions, a 2-hour time limit and a 70% passing score. Whether the exam is open-book, allows calculators or is adaptive has not been verified.
The current U.S. package is $561 and covers the application, online study guide and exam. A retake costs $51, and two retake purchases are allowed within one year of application approval.
No. The pass rate is not publicly disclosed, so any specific percentage you encounter online should be treated with caution. Prepare across all six knowledge areas rather than relying on a quoted figure.
The Certified Lodging Owner credential is a focused, ownership-based certification covering human resources, revenue, facilities, technology, sales and rooms. Confirm current details directly with AHLEI before you apply, and when you are ready to rehearse the format, start with the practice tests and review the full CLO certification overview.