CLO logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

CLO Training

TL;DR
  • CLO means Certified Lodging Owner, offered by AHLEI; you must own at least one lodging property and document it.
  • The current U.S. package is $561 and covers the application, online study guide and exam; a retake is $51.
  • The exam is listed as 100 questions in 2 hours with a 70% passing score.
  • Training covers six broad areas: human resources, revenue, facilities, technology, sales and rooms.

What "CLO Training" Actually Means for This Credential

When people search for CLO training, they often expect a classroom program, a multi-day bootcamp or a cohort course. For the Certified Lodging Owner credential from the American Hotel & Lodging Educational Institute (AHLEI), the training component is much more self-directed. The package you purchase bundles an application, an online study guide and the exam itself. Training, in practical terms, means working through that guide and translating it into the kind of judgment an owner uses every day.

That framing matters because the Certified Lodging Owner credential is aimed at people who already run or hold a stake in a lodging property. You are not learning hotel operations from scratch. You are organizing what you know, filling gaps in the areas you delegate, and checking your instincts against a structured body of knowledge. If you want a broader orientation before diving in, our explainer on what CLO certification is covers the credential at a high level, and the CLO certification overview sets the context.

Quick Identity Check: "CLO" appears as an acronym for several unrelated credentials. This article is exclusively about Certified Lodging Owner. If you are comparing programs, make sure the study materials you buy reference AHLEI and lodging ownership specifically.

Who Should Train: The Ownership Gate

Unlike many professional certifications that ask for years of work history, the CLO has an ownership requirement instead. An applicant must own at least one lodging property and document that ownership. Time in position is not applicable, so a new owner and a veteran owner face the same eligibility test.

The study guide is described as roughly 40 hours of material. That figure is a guide length, not a mandatory experience requirement, so you do not need to log 40 hours of anything to qualify. It simply gives you a sense of the reading and study load. For a full walkthrough of eligibility, see CLO requirements: eligibility, prerequisites and how to qualify.

Who tends to benefit most from training?

  • Independent owners who built their knowledge through experience and want a formal framework around it.
  • Newer owners who acquired a property and are still learning the functions they did not previously manage.
  • Owner-operators who handle some departments directly and rely on managers for others, leaving blind spots they want to close.

What the AHLEI Package Includes and What It Costs

The current U.S. package is priced at $561 and includes the application, the online study guide and the exam. A retake is $51. A member versus nonmember price split has not been verified, so budget around the single published figure and confirm at checkout. AHLA trademarks are used under license by NRAS, and the product is sold through the official AHLEI storefront. A full cost discussion lives in CLO certification cost: complete pricing breakdown.

ItemWhat We Can Say
Package (application, online guide, exam)$561 in the U.S.
Retake$51
Retake purchases allowedTwo within one year of application approval
Study guide lengthAbout 40 hours of material; not an experience requirement
DeliveryAHLEI ExamFlex with an authorized proctor, print or online
Member/nonmember pricing splitNot verified

One practical note on delivery: the exam runs through ExamFlex with an authorized proctor, in print or online format. We have not verified an external appointment provider or an at-home delivery option, so do not assume you can sit the exam in your living room. Plan around locating a proctor, and read our CLO exam dates and scheduling guide for timing considerations.

The Six Knowledge Areas to Train On

The current AHLEI product overview names six broad knowledge areas. We use them as preparation headings throughout this site. They are not an official weighted blueprint, and the exact official names, count and weights are not verified. That means no honest claim can be made about which area carries the most points. Treat them as study subjects, and for a deeper walk-through see CLO exam domains: complete guide to all 6 content areas.

Human Resources

Owners are ultimately accountable for how people are hired, trained, scheduled, paid and retained, even when a general manager runs the daily process.

  • Hiring, onboarding and turnover as owner-level cost drivers
  • Compliance exposure around wages, scheduling and workplace policy
  • Delegation boundaries: what the owner decides versus what the manager decides

Revenue

This is where ownership thinking and operational thinking meet. Expect to reason about how rate, occupancy and mix produce income.

  • Pricing strategy and how demand shapes rate decisions
  • Occupancy and average daily rate as paired indicators
  • Revenue per available room as a combined performance measure
  • Controlling costs relative to revenue, not just growing the top line

Facilities

The physical asset is the owner's largest exposure. Facilities questions tend to reward practical, preventive judgment.

  • Maintenance planning versus emergency repair
  • Capital expenditure timing and property renovation cycles
  • Safety, security and guest-experience impact of building condition

Technology

Modern lodging runs on connected systems. Owners need to evaluate technology as an investment, not just a tool.

  • Property management and reservation systems
  • Distribution channels and how bookings reach the property
  • Data security and guest information responsibilities

Sales

Beyond individual reservations, sales covers how a property wins group, corporate and relationship-driven business.

  • Identifying and prioritizing market segments
  • Marketing channels and brand positioning
  • Relationship and account management for repeat business

Rooms

The rooms division is the core product. Questions here connect guest experience, housekeeping, front office and inventory.

  • Front office and housekeeping coordination
  • Room inventory, status and turnover flow
  • Service standards and guest-recovery situations
A Caution on Weighting: Because official weights are unavailable, any site that tells you "Revenue is the biggest domain" is guessing. Spread your effort across all six areas, with extra time on whichever one you personally delegate away from. That is where owners most often have hidden gaps.

Exam Format You Are Training For

The official indexed product details list 100 questions, a 2-hour time limit and a 70% passing score. That works out to roughly 72 seconds per question on average, which is comfortable for knowledge recall but tight if you reread long scenarios. The split between scored and unscored questions and the exact item type of the real exam are unverified, so avoid training exclusively for one format.

Several rules also remain unconfirmed: whether the exam is open-book, whether calculators are permitted, whether it adapts to your answers, and what the current break policy is. Rather than guess, check the exam instructions you receive with your application. The pass rate is not publicly disclosed, which is why our CLO pass rate article and difficulty guide stay qualitative. For the scoring threshold specifically, see CLO passing score: exactly what you need to pass.

Exam DetailStatus
Number of questions100 (per indexed product details)
Time allowed2 hours
Passing score70%
Scored/unscored splitUnverified
Open-book or calculator rulesUnverified
Adaptive testingUnverified
Pass rateNot publicly disclosed

Sequencing Your Training by Domain

Because this credential is built for working owners with limited spare hours, sequencing matters more than raw volume. The guide is about 40 hours of material, so a simple multi-week plan fits around a property's operating schedule. The order below starts with the areas where owners usually lean on staff, then moves into the revenue-and-sales cluster that most directly drives income.

Week 1

Rooms and Facilities

  • Read the guide sections tied to the rooms division and the physical plant
  • Walk your own property and note where your daily reality matches or differs from the text
Week 2

Human Resources

  • Study hiring, training and retention concepts at the owner-accountability level
  • Review delegation: which decisions belong to you versus your manager
Week 3

Revenue and Sales

  • Work the pricing and occupancy relationships until the metrics feel automatic
  • Connect market segmentation in sales to rate decisions in revenue
Week 4

Technology and Full Review

  • Cover systems, distribution and data responsibilities
  • Take timed mixed practice across all six areas, then revisit the weakest

This sequence is a suggestion, not an official curriculum. The current course table of contents is unverified, so match the order to the actual chapter layout in your guide. Our CLO study guide covers pacing in more depth, and the CLO cheat sheet works well as a final-week refresher.

Building Practice Around Owner-Level Decisions

A distinguishing feature of this credential is perspective. Many hospitality exams test whether you can perform a task. The Certified Lodging Owner positions you as the person who decides which tasks matter, how to fund them and how to evaluate results. As you practice, translate every topic into an owner question.

Turn each domain into a decision

  • Revenue: If occupancy is high but profit is thin, is the problem rate, cost structure or segment mix?
  • Facilities: Which repair can wait, and which risks guest safety or reputation if deferred?
  • Technology: Does a new system reduce labor or distribution cost enough to justify its price?
  • Human resources: What does high turnover in one department cost beyond the replacement hire?
  • Sales: Which segments fill your slowest nights without cannibalizing higher-rate demand?
  • Rooms: Where does the guest experience break down between front office and housekeeping?

Key Takeaway

Do not memorize terms in isolation. For each domain, write one realistic owner scenario in your own words and decide what you would do. Practice questions then feel like variations on situations you have already reasoned through. Try the questions on our CLO practice test site to check your recall under time pressure.

Keep in mind that practice-question allocations across the six areas on this site are editorial choices, not official weights. Use them to balance your preparation, not to predict the real distribution.

Retakes and the Long Game of Renewal

If your first attempt falls short, the retake product is priced at $51, and two retake purchases are allowed within one year of application approval. The retake product is described as Second Edition, though the year is unverified. Treat that one-year window as your real deadline: schedule your first attempt early enough that you still have room to retake if needed. Use any score feedback you receive to direct a second round of focused study on your weakest domain.

On the other side of passing, a directory reports a five-year renewal cycle by re-examination or continuing professional development. The current AHLEI renewal hours, points and fee are not verified, so confirm them directly with AHLEI before you plan. If you are weighing the long-term value of earning and maintaining the credential, our ROI analysis and salary guide take that angle, and CLO jobs discusses where the credential tends to be recognized.

What Is Not Verified Yet

Honest training advice includes naming the gaps. As of the sources reviewed on September 29, 2026, the following remain unconfirmed:

  • Official domain names, count and weights
  • The real exam's exact item format and scored/unscored split
  • Open-book, calculator, adaptive and break rules
  • Current renewal hours, points and fees
  • Any published pass rate

Because of these gaps, the safest strategy is broad coverage of all six knowledge areas, timed practice against the 100-question, 2-hour, 70% benchmark, and a quick read of the instructions that arrive with your application. If you are still deciding whether this credential is the right fit, our pages on what CLO is and what CLO stands for make a good starting point.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is there a required CLO training course I must complete before the exam?

The package bundles the application, an online study guide and the exam. The roughly 40 hours of guide material is a study resource, not a mandatory experience requirement. The only eligibility gate described is owning at least one lodging property and documenting that ownership.

How much does CLO training and the exam cost?

The current U.S. package is $561, covering the application, online guide and exam. A retake is $51. A member versus nonmember price difference has not been verified, so confirm the final price at checkout.

What topics should I focus on?

Study six broad areas: human resources, revenue, facilities, technology, sales and rooms. Exact official weights are not available, so distribute your time across all of them and add extra hours to the area you least manage day to day.

How long is the exam and what score do I need?

Indexed product details list 100 questions in 2 hours with a 70% passing score. Whether the exam is open-book, allows a calculator or adapts to your answers has not been verified, so check your exam instructions.

Can I retake the exam if I do not pass?

Yes. A retake costs $51, and two retake purchases are allowed within one year of application approval. Plan your first attempt early enough to leave time for a second try inside that window.

Ready to pass your CLO exam?

Put this into practice with free CLO questions across every exam domain.